Anime Review: Goblin Slayer

Related image

Title: Goblin Slayer
Number of Episodes: 12
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy
Studio: White Fox
Premiered: Fall 2018

Synopsis

Goblins are known for their ferocity, cunning, and rapid reproduction, but their reputation as the lowliest of monsters causes their threat to be overlooked. Raiding rural civilizations to kidnap females of other species for breeding, these vile creatures are free to continue their onslaught as adventurers turn a blind eye in favor of more rewarding assignments with larger bounties.

To commemorate her first day as a Porcelain-ranked adventurer, the 15-year-old Priestess joins a band of young, enthusiastic rookies to investigate a tribe of goblins responsible for the disappearance of several village women. Unprepared and inexperienced, the group soon faces its inevitable demise from an ambush while exploring a cave. With no one else left standing, the terrified Priestess accepts her fate—until the Goblin Slayer unexpectedly appears to not only rescue her with little effort, but destroy the entire goblin nest. 

As a holder of the prestigious Silver rank, the Goblin Slayer allows her to accompany him as he assists the Adventurer’s Guild in all goblin-related matters. Together with the Priestess, High Elf, Dwarf, and Lizard-man, the armored warrior will not rest until every single goblin in the frontier lands has been eradicated for good.

Anime info and synopsis from here:

LIKENESS SCALE:

thoughts..thought..thoughts..

Animation

The animation was okay. It had a lot of gory scenes where in a lot of goblins die. Among the 12 episodes, I liked the first. The battle scene inside the cave was gory, bloody and action packed. The entrance of the Goblin Slayer was epic. I liked most of the battle scenes. The animators did not hesitate to show how a goblin’s cruelty. If you are sensitive to nudity, rape and other horrific events. Goblin Slayer is not the anime to watch. As for the opening OST, the ending OST was better. I liked the beat more and it feels more suited for the anime.   

Plot

Goblin Slayer has 12 episodes. It is about a man who only slays goblins. He is called the “goblin slayer” because he would only kill goblins. Although, he likes to work alone, it was inevitable that people started to gravitate to him. He is part of a hero guild who receives requests. This is where he gets his job to kill goblins. Goblins are his enemy because they ransack villages and kill, rape, torture women. This has happened to his home town which was the catalyst for him to train to kill goblins. The twelve episodes show how the goblin slayer improved. From hunting and killing goblins on his own, he has now a group to go with him. Aside from this, his love life is blooming, even if he does not know about it. Also, he was able to show other heroes that goblin slaying is a worthy job too. Some heroes are ignorant and would not want a goblin connected job because the pay is low. The outfit of the goblin slayer was armor which covered him from head to toes. He showed his face to his guildmates but I was not able to see it.

Characters: Goblin Slayer is a recluse who kills goblins for revenge. He started as a one-man team but eventually had friends. The priestess is the first company he had with his goblin jobs. After her, a female archer elf, dwarf and lizard man joined their team after dealing with their goblin request. They do have differences but everyone was a team player. My favorite character would be the female archer elf because she is a tsundere. I like tsunderes because they are interesting. I like that she is such a complex character. I am not sure if she likes the goblin slayer or not. Anyways, I’m rooting for her but if this ship would not sail then it’s okay.

All in All

I liked this anime. I gave it a four hearts rating because 12 episodes were not enough for me. I kept on remembering Kakashi from Naruto because of the mystery behind the mask of both characters. I would only watch a second season if his face is shown in it. Aside from this, the first episode is my favorite. My interest waned because I felt that the story was not progressing. It just felt that the goblin slayer was just killing goblins. I was waiting for a story line but it came late. I did like the episodes where the whole guild saves his childhood friends farm. It was sad, that because of the low price for hunting goblins, heroes would not take the job. I also liked that the anime did not skimp on gory, bloody and disturbing scenes. This is because I expected it would be like that. The manga was full of disturbing scenes which is not for everyone. I did like reading and watching it because Goblin Slayer was a unique character. He was a killing machine without feeling. Somehow, it made me curious aside from his covered face. On the whole, I did like this anime, four hearts because it was interesting but my interest ebbed because of the pacing.

Leave a comment