book review: Autoboyography by Christina Lauren

Title: Autoboyography
Author: Christina Lauren
Edition: Paperback
Pages: 416 pages
Category: YA, contemporary, romance

SYPNOSIS

Three years ago, Tanner Scott’s family relocated from California to Utah, a move that nudged the bisexual teen temporarily back into the closet. Now, with one semester of high school to go, and no obstacles between him and out-of-state college freedom, Tanner plans to coast through his remaining classes and clear out of Utah.

But when his best friend Autumn dares him to take Provo High’s prestigious Seminar—where honor roll students diligently toil to draft a book in a semester—Tanner can’t resist going against his better judgment and having a go, if only to prove to Autumn how silly the whole thing is. Writing a book in four months sounds simple. Four months is an eternity.

It turns out, Tanner is only partly right: four months is a long time. After all, it takes only one second for him to notice Sebastian Brother, the Mormon prodigy who sold his own Seminar novel the year before and who now mentors the class. And it takes less than a month for Tanner to fall completely in love with him.

LIKENESS SCALE

Warning: Spoilers

thoughts..thoughts..thoughts

BOOK REVIEW:

Autoboyography is a story that I have started to read before. I stopped since I knew that I would trigger a reading slump that would be hard to beat. Since I am on a mission to read all of my physical books, I needed to read Autoboyography already. I was correct in assuming that I would love the story however, thankfully it did not trigger a huge reading slump. The story was good. It had the same mood I loved in Christina Lauren’s other work: Love and other words. It was not cheesy, just complicated raw emotion and truth. I could have made this story a favorite but I did not. This is because Tanner used God’s worth to justify Sebastian’s feelings for him. “A God worthy of your eternal love wouldn’t judge you for who you love while you’re here”. This did not sit well for me. I agree that love is for all but don’t use God to justify the emotions that you have decided to feel. The truth is God does not need us to be worthy of our love and praise. We need Him more than He needs us. He bestows us with grace since he cares and loves us. We can never be worthy of his glory and grace since God is better than all of us. Also, to love is a decision to make in the long run. It is up to us who to love and to own that decision. Despite my misgivings with this quote, I did enjoy the story. It was cute, heart-wrenching, and adorable. I like that eventually they have ended up together, in a roundabout way. I do like the story and would recommend it but the quote mentioned is not how God should be seen.

BUY, BORROW, NEVER MIND: Buy

Thank you and Happy reading,

R


Disclaimer: This review is my honest opinion on the story. I did not receive any kind of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I am under no obligation to write a positive review. I purchased my own copy of Autoboyography by Christina Lauren. The book photo and synopsis here is from goodreads.com


If you like this post do comment, like and follow here

lets be friends..

Instagram / Twitter/ Goodreads

3 thoughts on “book review: Autoboyography by Christina Lauren

Leave a comment