book review: The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Title: The Unhoneymooners
Author: Christina Lauren
Edition: Paperback
Pages: 400 pages
Category: Contemporary, Romance, Chick Lit

SYPNOSIS

Olive is always unlucky: in her career, in love, in…well, everything. Her identical twin sister Ami, on the other hand, is probably the luckiest person in the world. Her meet-cute with her fiancé is something out of a romantic comedy (gag) and she’s managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a series of Internet contests (double gag). Worst of all, she’s forcing Olive to spend the day with her sworn enemy, Ethan, who just happens to be the best man.

Olive braces herself to get through 24 hours of wedding hell before she can return to her comfortable, unlucky life. But when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning from eating bad shellfish, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. And now there’s an all-expenses-paid honeymoon in Hawaii up for grabs.

Putting their mutual hatred aside for the sake of a free vacation, Olive and Ethan head for paradise, determined to avoid each other at all costs. But when Olive runs into her future boss, the little white lie she tells him is suddenly at risk to become a whole lot bigger. She and Ethan now have to pretend to be loving newlyweds, and her luck seems worse than ever. But the weird thing is that she doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, she feels kind of… lucky.


Warning: Spoilers

thoughts..thoughts..thoughts

BOOK REVIEW:

I love this book very much. There that is my whole book review. Kidding aside, this read was everything I needed this time. I am currently undergoing isolation and it gets sad etc. However, because of this book, I felt less depressed. It is a happy pill read that left me optimistic about life. The only reason I was not keen on reading it was because of the hype. Now, I understand the rave reviews hence my love, love, love for the whole story.

Olive is a grumpy, pessimistic character and I can relate to her a lot. We also have the same kind of sibling, the “sunshine of everyone”. Reading this made me laugh a lot. It also made me anxious in some way because I just wanted the story to continue on and on. Also, Ethan earned a spot on my fictional boyfriend list. Despite the misunderstandings, both Olive and Ethan were able to have fun on their fake honeymoon. As a reader, I love their banter and the flirty tension was a treat to read. The story as a whole was good. I had a hard time finishing it because I DID NOT WANT THE STORY TO BE DONE. However, I need to move on and I’m scared that no read with an enemy-to-lovers trope would come close to it.

The reading experience was different. Ethan was able to have his redemption arc. I like that the whole family of Olive was involved and supportive. Everything was so light and fluffy. Having a big family can sometimes be burdensome because no secrets can be kept. However, in times of trouble, they are the support that is needed. I like this a lot and can again relate to it. As of now, I am more open to reading other stories by Christina Lauren. I enjoy this a lot and would recommend it to anyone willing to dive into the romance genre.

BUY, BORROW, NEVER MIND: Buy

Thank you and Happy reading,

R


Disclaimer: This review is my honest opinion on the story. I did not receive any kind of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I am under no obligation to write a positive review. I purchased my own copy of The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren. The book photo and synopsis here are from goodreads.com


If you like this post do comment, like, and follow here

let us be friends.

Instagram / Twitter/ Goodreads

Leave a comment