book review: Children of blood and bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Title: Children of blood and bone
Author: Tomi Adeyemi
Edition: Paperback
Pages: 336 pages
Category: YA, Fantasy, Fiction

SYPNOSIS

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.


Warning: Spoilers

thoughts..thoughts..thoughts

BOOK REVIEW:

Children of blood and bone by Tomi Adeyemi was a hyped book before the pandemic. It had a lot of people talking about how much they loved it. Since I was easily influenced by Booktube, I got curious about the book. After a few years, the hype faded, and yet I have not still read the book. Luckily, I read this book now, since I might have DNF this before. My love for YA has dwindled yet this has been a to-read because I was still curious about it.

To summarize my reading experience, it was okay. The story starts in an uninteresting way. The main character Zelie was too vengeful for me. Also, she is a typical YA heroine. I liked the side characters more. They were more interesting to me and their character development was good. I would have liked a background more on the Gods and the lore used in the story. It was the only topic that actually made the story more interesting. There was romance also in the story which was okay. Again, the princess and the main character’s brother were cute. As for the main character, it was an instant hate-love-hate relationship. I am sure that Zelie would not have the prince but I was not expecting the ending for him. Overall, this story was okay, I was expecting a reading slump but it never came. For now, I would not continue would book 2, the ending for this story was enough for me.

Thank you and Happy reading,

R


Disclaimer: This review is my honest opinion on the story. I did not receive any kind of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I am under no obligation to write a positive review. I purchased my own copy of Children of blood and bone by Tomi Adeyemi. The book photo and synopsis here are from goodreads.com


If you like this post do comment, like, and follow here

let us be friends.

Instagram / Twitter/ Goodreads

3 thoughts on “book review: Children of blood and bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Leave a comment